Skip Navigation LinksHome : Qualifications and Standards : Qualifications and Standards

 Qualifications and Standards

The Act setting up the Seychelles Qualifications Authority defines Qualifications as “the formal recognition of a learner’s achievement of the required number and range of credits or other requirements at a specified level of the qualifications framework.”

A Qualification is firstly a planned combination of learning outcomes which may include Essential Unit Standards, Specific Unit Standards and Elective Unit Standards. Unit standards are registered statements of desired education and training competencies and their associated performance criteria together with administrative and other information (e.g. standard and level numbers, number of credits etc.). Qualifications established by the SQA can be built up from separate unit standards which the individual has taken or has demonstrated as having the competency. The SQA recognizes training which is one unit standard or more in duration. One unit standard under the mandate of the SQA refers to a programme of learning comprising Credits, Formal assessment and a minimum of 30 notional hours.


Related Links 

South Africa Qualifications Authority

Mauritius Qualifications Authority

Local Partners 

Click here to view various organizations that are involved in qualifications-related work.